Quick facts
- United States: the federal text is performance-based. OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151(c) requires "suitable facilities for quick drenching or flushing of the eyes and body" where eyes or body may be exposed to injurious corrosive materials, and it names no flow rate, no duration and no distance.
- United States: the numbers come from a consensus standard, not from the regulation. ANSI/ISEA Z358.1-2014 (R2020) "Emergency Eyewash and Shower Equipment" is the document that manufacturers and auditors work to.
- Canada: there is no Canadian design standard for eyewash equipment. The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety states on its OSH Answers page that ANSI Z358.1-2014 (R2020) "is generally used as a guide."
- Canada: the binding requirement is provincial. Ontario R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 851, section 124(1) requires an employer to provide eye wash facilities, emergency showers, and antidotes or flushing fluids where a worker is likely to be exposed to a hazardous biological or chemical agent that could injure the eye or skin.
- The delivery figure used across both countries: an eyewash unit should supply fluid to both eyes at "not less than 1.5 litres/minute (0.4 gallons/minute) for 15 minutes," and a combination eye and face wash unit 11.4 litres per minute, per CCOHS.
- Canadian regulation text cited here is current to the version published on the official consolidation; section 125 of Regulation 851 now reads only "Revoked: O. Reg. 186/19, s. 7."
An eyewash unit is bought as safety equipment, not as a diagnostic device, and that is exactly why it slips through procurement checks. The unit has no diagnostic claim, no performance standard of its own in Canada, and a requirement that is written differently on each side of the border. This article sets out where the American requirement comes from, where the Canadian requirement comes from, and what a clinic or laboratory should be able to show for each unit, bottle and flushing fluid on site. Eyeball wash in the plural sense — the plumbed station, the self-contained unit and the personal squeeze bottle — is treated here as three different products with three different obligations.
Where does the eyewash requirement come from in each country?
In the United States the requirement is short and deliberately general. OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151(c) reads, in full: "Where the eyes or body of any person may be exposed to injurious corrosive materials, suitable facilities for quick drenching or flushing of the eyes and body shall be provided within the work area for immediate emergency use." That is the whole provision. It does not name a flow rate, a duration, a temperature or an installation height.
The numbers that auditors actually check come from ANSI/ISEA Z358.1. The standard is written by the International Safety Equipment Association and the American Society of Safety Professionals, and it is the document behind every "Z358.1 compliant" claim on a product page. A buyer who is told a unit "meets OSHA" should understand that the regulation has no numerical content of its own for eyewash, and that the compliance claim is almost always a Z358.1 claim.
Canada writes the requirement at the provincial level, and the provinces write it as an outcome rather than as a specification. Ontario R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 851, section 124(1) states that where a worker is required to work with, or is likely to be exposed to, a hazardous biological or chemical agent that could cause injury to the eye or skin, an employer shall provide as many of the following as are needed for adequate emergency treatment: eye wash facilities, emergency showers, and antidotes, flushing fluids or washes. Section 124(2) adds four conditions: the equipment must be clearly marked, located in a conspicuous place near where the agent is kept or used, readily accessible to workers, and carry instructions for use displayed on or near the equipment.
There is no federal Canadian equivalent, and there is no Canadian equipment standard. CCOHS states plainly that "there is no Canadian standard for the design or placement of eyewash stations or emergency showers," and that the American standard is used as a guide in practice. The practical result is that a Canadian site following CCOHS guidance and an American site following OSHA and Z358.1 are converging on the same hardware by different routes.
| Item | Canada | United States |
|---|---|---|
| Binding legal text | Provincial, e.g. Ontario R.R.O. 1990, Reg. 851, s. 124(1) | 29 CFR 1910.151(c) |
| Level of detail in the law | Names the equipment and four placement conditions | Names "suitable facilities" only |
| Design standard | None Canadian; ANSI/ISEA Z358.1-2014 (R2020) used as a guide (CCOHS) | ANSI/ISEA Z358.1-2014 (R2020) |
| Flow and duration in the law | Not specified | Not specified |
| Marking and signage | Required by s. 124(2)(a) to (d) | Not in 1910.151(c); covered by Z358.1 |
| Currency note | s. 125 revoked; remaining requirement is s. 124 | 1910.151 not amended for this purpose |
How do the American and Canadian rules differ for a portable eyewash bottle?
The portable bottle is where the two systems diverge most sharply, because it is the product most often bought without any of the paperwork that a plumbed station attracts.
In the United States, a personal squeeze bottle is assessed against Z358.1's performance expectations for its category, and a portable unit that cannot deliver the flushing fluid for the required duration is a hard finding. OSHA itself will not cite a flow rate, but an auditor working from the standard will.
In Canada, the portable bottle is reached through the same outcome requirement. Ontario section 124(1) requires "antidotes, flushing fluids or washes" alongside eye wash facilities and emergency showers, and section 124(2) requires that those treatments be marked, conspicuous, accessible and carry instructions. A maintenance closet full of unmarked squeeze bottles does not meet section 124(2) even if the bottles themselves are the right product.
There is a second, quieter difference. A plumbed station draws from a potable supply that the site controls, while a bottle carries a manufactured fluid with its own shelf life and its own labelling. A site that treats the bottle as "just saline" tends to lose track of fill dates, and that is the failure an inspector finds first.
| Product form | United States | Canada |
|---|---|---|
| Plumbed station | Z358.1 performance expectation; OSHA 1910.151(c) requires the facility | s. 124(1) eye wash facility; s. 124(2) marking, placement, access, instructions |
| Self-contained unit | Z358.1 performance expectation | s. 124(1) eye wash facility; refill and inspection recorded on site |
| Personal squeeze bottle | Z358.1 performance expectation for the category | s. 124(1) flushing fluid or wash; s. 124(2) marking and instructions |
| Emergency shower | Z358.1; 75.7 L/min for 15 minutes per CCOHS summary | s. 124(1) emergency shower where required |
| Flushing fluid | Not addressed by 1910.151; supplier labelling governs | Expressly named in s. 124(1) as antidotes, flushing fluids or washes |
Which flow rate and duration should an eyewash unit deliver?
The figure that circulates in both countries is 1.5 litres per minute for 15 minutes, and CCOHS gives it as a design expectation for the equipment rather than as a treatment instruction.
CCOHS states that eyewash stations "should be designed to deliver fluid to both eyes simultaneously at a volume flow rate of not less than 1.5 litres/minute (0.4 gallons/minute) for 15 minutes," and that combination eye and face wash stations require 11.4 litres per minute (3.0 gallons per minute). It also notes that the flow must not be at a velocity that could injure the eye, and gives the installation envelope as roughly 83.8 to 134.6 cm from the floor and a minimum of 15.3 cm from a wall.
Two distinctions matter here, and getting them wrong changes the obligation. The first is between what the equipment must be capable of and what a first aider decides to do. Z358.1 does not specify how long an affected person should be rinsed; it specifies that the equipment is capable of supplying flushing liquid for a minimum of 15 minutes. The duration of the actual rinse belongs to the safety data sheet and to the injury, and CCOHS is explicit that flushing should begin immediately after contact. The second distinction is between an eyewash-only unit and a combination eye and face wash unit: the flow figures are not interchangeable, and a site that buys a face wash unit but documents it as an eyewash is documenting the wrong specification.
For a Canadian site, the practical consequence is that the number is not in the Ontario regulation, so the site must choose a reference and record which one it used. Naming ANSI/ISEA Z358.1-2014 (R2020) as the design reference, and CCOHS as the source of the flow figures, is a defensible position; saying only "we comply" is not.
What should a clinic or laboratory record for each eyewash unit?
Six records, and each one maps to a clause rather than to a preference.
- The requirement that applies. The province or state, the section number, and the date the site last read the consolidation, so that an obsolete subsection is not quoted back.
- The equipment list. Each station, self-contained unit, and bottle, with its location recorded against the area where the hazardous agent is kept or used, which is what section 124(2)(b) asks for in Ontario.
- The signage and instruction record. A photograph of the sign and of the displayed instructions, since section 124(2)(a) and (d) ask for both.
- The flow verification. The last measured flow and the reference it was checked against, with a note that the figure is a capability figure and not a rinse instruction.
- The fluid record. For bottles and self-contained units, the fill or manufacture date, the expiry or replacement interval, and the labelling on the container.
- The activation record. For plumbed units, the date each unit was flushed and the condition found, which is the record that catches a unit that has been sitting unused for a season.
Which consumables does a clinic restock beside its eyewash station?
A first aid point is stocked as a set: eyewash hardware, flushing fluid and the wound care consumables that sit beside it. For clinics and laboratories buying at case level, the wholesale ordering page sets out account and case terms and the B2B wholesale collection lists the lines held for institutional buyers. The CliniEco eye care range covers the bench consumables that share a wall with the safety point, and a site that wants the eye care and first aid lines together can start from the eye patch occlusion set, the eye test chart set or the biological indicator 5-pack trial for sites that also run their own sterilizer.
Sources
- CCOHS, emergency showers and eyewash stations
- ISEA, ANSI/ISEA Z358.1 standard page
- ASSE, Z358 series
- 29 CFR 1910.151, medical services and first aid
- OSHA 1910.151, medical services and first aid
- Ontario R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 851, industrial establishments
- Ontario e-Laws legislation search
- Medical Devices Regulations, SOR/98-282
- Health Canada, medical devices
- CCOHS, OSH answers index
- WHO laboratory biosafety manual
- ISO 15189:2022, medical laboratories
- ISO 11607-1:2019, packaging for terminally sterilized devices
- Public Health Ontario, laboratory services
- CLSI standards and products
- College of Medical Laboratory Technologists of Ontario
- Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. O.1
- openFDA device classification API
- FDA device classification database
- US OSHA bloodborne pathogens standard, 1910.1030
Related reading
- Eye Wash Stations in Canada vs the US: ANSI Z358.1
- Eye Wash Solution in Canada vs the US: Which Flushing Fluid Rules
- Eye Masks in Canada vs the US: Warm Compress and Dry Eye
CliniEco Medical supplies eye care, laboratory and clinic consumables of the kind described in this article. MDEL #35334. This article is written for clinic, laboratory and procurement professionals and is not safety, occupational health or medical guidance; the choice of eyewash equipment, the placement decision and the first aid response belong to the site's occupational health and safety programme and to the requirements that apply to it.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does OSHA require for eyewash in the United States?
29 CFR 1910.151(c) requires that where the eyes or body of any person may be exposed to injurious corrosive materials, suitable facilities for quick drenching or flushing of the eyes and body shall be provided within the work area for immediate emergency use. The provision names no flow rate and no duration.
Where do the flow figures for eyewash come from?
From ANSI/ISEA Z358.1, the consensus standard, not from the OSHA regulation. CCOHS summarises the expectation as not less than 1.5 litres per minute to both eyes for 15 minutes, and 11.4 litres per minute for a combination eye and face wash station.
Is there a Canadian standard for eyewash stations?
No. CCOHS states that there is no Canadian standard for the design or placement of eyewash stations or emergency showers, and that ANSI Z358.1-2014 (R2020) is generally used as a guide instead.
What does Ontario law require for eyewash?
Ontario R.R.O. 1990, Regulation 851, section 124(1) requires an employer to provide eye wash facilities, emergency showers and antidotes, flushing fluids or washes where a worker is likely to be exposed to a hazardous biological or chemical agent that could injure the eye or skin. Section 124(2) requires the equipment to be clearly marked, conspicuously placed, readily accessible and to display instructions for use.
How should a portable eyewash bottle be documented in Canada?
Against section 124(1) as a flushing fluid or wash, and against section 124(2) for marking, placement, access and instructions. The bottle's fill or manufacture date, replacement interval and container labelling should be recorded with it.
Does a Z358.1 claim mean a unit complies with the law?
No. Z358.1 is a consensus design standard. Compliance with the law is a separate question, decided by OSHA 1910.151(c) in the United States and by provincial requirements such as Ontario Regulation 851 in Canada.
0 comments