Quick facts
- This article sets the veterinary sterilization requirements that apply in Canada — the provincial college accreditation standards and the national veterinary infection prevention and control guidance document that the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association reviewed for endorsement — against the human-healthcare requirements in Ontario and the United States baseline, parameter by parameter.
- Ontario's veterinary accreditation standard requires a recognized sterilization method, autoclave servicing in line with the manufacturer's instructions, and internal and external indicators in every surgical pack. It does not state a biological monitoring frequency.
- The national veterinary document states that biological indicators should be used periodically and that "weekly or bi-weekly use is likely adequate in most veterinary clinics", while noting that human healthcare facilities use them daily. Ontario human-healthcare practice requires a biological indicator for each sterilizer on each day it is used, and for each cycle type used that day.
- The weekly cadence that circulates in purchasing conversations is the CDC and AAMI ST79 baseline used in United States facilities. It is not the Ontario requirement, and no Canadian veterinary or human-healthcare document reviewed here sets weekly as the Canadian expectation.
Three things are true at once about veterinary sterilization in Canada, and buying decisions go wrong when they are blurred. Provincial veterinary colleges set binding facility standards that say a recognized sterilization method must be used and that packs must carry indicators and identification, and those standards leave the monitoring frequency to the practice. The national guidance document that veterinary teams actually read recommends biological indicators periodically, with weekly or bi-weekly described as likely adequate in most clinics. The human-healthcare documents that sit beside them in the same province, for dentistry and for hospitals, require a biological indicator on every day the sterilizer is used, a daily air-removal test on dynamic air-removal sterilizers, and a log kept for at least ten years.
This article sets the three sources side by side, quotes the veterinary documents word for word where the wording matters, and shows where a veterinary clinic that wants to monitor at human-healthcare intensity would have to add steps, indicators, and records that no veterinary document currently asks for. It is written for practice owners, practice managers, and the people who order the consumables, because the gap between "recognized method" and "daily verified method" is a purchasing decision long before it is an inspection finding.
What sterilization requirements apply to a veterinary clinic in Canada?
There is no federal veterinary sterilization standard, and there is no single national document that a clinic can be inspected against from coast to coast. Requirements arrive in two layers.
The binding layer is provincial. In Ontario, veterinary facilities must hold a Certificate of Accreditation and meet the College of Veterinarians of Ontario's Accreditation Standards for Veterinary Facilities in Ontario. Section 1 of those standards states:
> "The practice must have disinfection and/or sterilization facilities suitable for the work undertaken. This includes adequate facilities for sterilization, and a recognized method of sterilization must be employed. The sterilization system must be effective in the sterilization of instruments and equipment."
The same section adds that all items sterilized in the facility display the date of sterilization and the name or initials of the team member who carried out the sterilization. Within the surgery scope of practice, the standard requires that separate sterilized packs are used for each major surgical procedure and that a means to confirm sterilization is used, with the guideline explaining that internal and external indicators monitor the efficiency of the technique. Cold sterile is expressly not accepted as a sterilization method for surgical instruments used in major surgery, and a pressure cooker is not permitted as a sterilizer.
The advisory layer is national. The national infection prevention and control guidance for small animal veterinary clinics, published in January 2020 and authored by M.E.C. Anderson, M. Wimmers and J.S. Weese, is the document veterinary teams cite. Its acknowledgements record that the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association's National Issues Committee reviewed it "for endorsement, and for allowing distribution through its website". Its own introduction is candid about the maturity of the field: veterinary infection control "is still relatively underdeveloped compared to that of infection control in human healthcare, and limited resources are currently available to help veterinarians design and implement adequate infection control programs."
That sentence is not a criticism of veterinary practice. It is the reason the document's monitoring language reads differently from a college standard, and it is the honest starting point for a clinic deciding how far to go.
How do the veterinary and human-healthcare expectations compare, item by item?
The comparison below uses the veterinary documents above, the human-healthcare documents that govern Ontario dentistry and hospitals, and the United States baseline that the weekly testing habit comes from.
| Parameter | Veterinary practice in Canada | Human healthcare in Ontario | United States baseline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Governing document | Provincial college accreditation standards; national IPC guidance document (2020 edition, CVMA-reviewed) | RCDSO Standard of Practice, Infection Prevention and Control v3; Public Health Ontario / PIDAC provincial guidance; CSA Z314 series | CDC Guideline for Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare Facilities (2008); ANSI/AAMI ST79:2017 |
| Required sterilization method | "A recognized method of sterilization must be employed"; steam is the common method; cold sterile excluded for major surgery; pressure cookers not permitted | Validated steam, ethylene oxide or low-temperature processes with written procedures | Validated processes with qualification testing on installation and after major repair |
| Autoclave servicing | In line with the manufacturer's instructions; documentation is "recommended but not required" | Preventive maintenance, repairs and servicing must be documented | Qualification testing with a biological indicator process challenge device after major repair, relocation or utility changes |
| Indicators in the pack | Internal and external indicators; a sterilization indicator is placed in the centre of every surgical pack | Chemical indicator class system; Type 4, 5 or 6 for routine load release under defined conditions | Type 5 chemical indicator inside a process challenge device for implant loads |
| Biological indicator frequency | "Biological sterility indicators should be used periodically"; "weekly or bi-weekly use is likely adequate in most veterinary clinics" | One biological indicator per sterilizer on each day it is used, and for each cycle type used that day | "At least weekly, but preferably every day that the sterilizer is in use" |
| Control indicator | Not addressed | Control indicator incubated with the processed indicator | Control from the same lot incubated on each day a processed indicator is incubated |
| Air removal test | Not specified in the documents reviewed | Daily air-removal test with a Class II indicator on dynamic air-removal sterilizers | Bowie-Dick test each day the sterilizer is used |
| Implant loads | Immediate-use steam sterilization is "never" to be used for surgical implants | Biological indicator in a process challenge device, implantables quarantined until results are known | Implant loads: biological indicator and Type 5 indicator, implants held until results are known |
| Item labelling | Date of sterilization plus name or initials of the person who sterilized | Batch and cycle identification linked to the load | Load identification per facility procedure |
| Record retention | Medical records: five years after the last entry. No monitoring record period is stated for sterilization | Log book maintained for at least ten years from the last entry | Typically three years under accreditation survey practice |
Two readers can look at that table and reach different conclusions, and both are defensible. A veterinary practice is compliant with the standard it is accredited against. A practice that also performs implant surgery, or that has had a positive biological indicator it could not explain, is making a different decision when it keeps a weekly cadence.
Which steps in the monitoring chain are missing from the veterinary documents?
The gaps are easiest to see in the documents' own words, because the same sentence often shows both what is required and what is left open.
| Step | What the veterinary documents say, verbatim | What is left open |
|---|---|---|
| Frequency | "Biological sterility indicators should be used periodically." The document then adds: "In human healthcare facilities it is recommended that these indicators are used daily. Weekly or bi-weekly use is likely adequate in most veterinary clinics, depending on how heavily the autoclave is used." | Periodic is undefined for the practice that wants a number. The document supplies a recommendation, not an interval tied to use-days. |
| Process challenge device | The veterinary document describes placing the indicator in the incubator after the cycle, but does not require the indicator to be placed inside a process challenge device for routine monitoring. | Ontario's human-healthcare standard requires the indicator to be placed in a process challenge device; a bare indicator run alongside a load challenges the chamber, not the package. |
| Control indicator | Not addressed in the veterinary guidance reviewed here. | Without a control, a failure and an incubation fault look the same and the investigation starts in the wrong place. |
| Air removal | No daily air-removal test is specified in the documents reviewed. | On a dynamic air-removal sterilizer, a failed air removal produces a dry load that passes a chemical indicator and can fail a biological one. |
| Release rule | The veterinary guidance states that if internal or external indicators fail, the items must not be used and the event investigated immediately, and that after a biological indicator failure any implantable items sterilized since the last passing biological indicator must be recalled immediately, with three more consecutive runs monitored. | That rule only activates after a biological indicator failure. A practice that tests twice a month has fewer chances to trigger it, and more loads in the window between tests. |
| Records | The document requires that biological indicator results "should be recorded in an autoclave log to allow for tracking of autoclave function". | No retention period, no required fields, and no requirement that the log be able to answer a look-back question months later. |
| Sterile storage | "Formal expiry times are not available for autoclaved items, however, one year is a reasonable limit for items that are stored and handled properly." | Human-healthcare practice works from event-related sterility and validated packaging systems, with shelf-life stated by the packaging manufacturer. |
None of this means the veterinary standard is wrong. The College of Veterinarians of Ontario standard does something a frequency rule cannot: it requires the practice to have a recognized method, to keep the system effective, and to be able to hand a pack to a colleague with the date and the sterilizer operator on it. The gap is that effectiveness is asserted and signed, not measured at a defined interval.
What does the peer-reviewed evidence say about veterinary infection control?
The published record on Canadian companion-animal practice is thin and specific at the same time. Murphy, Reid-Smith, Weese and McEwen surveyed 101 community companion-animal veterinary practices in southern Ontario and published the results in Zoonoses and Public Health in 2010. Their findings:
- None of the 101 practices had a formal infection control programme.
- 65 per cent of practices did not have an isolation area, and 61 per cent of those did not apply any specific infection control measures to infectious cases.
- For environmental disinfection of infectious body fluids, 60 per cent of veterinarians and 40 per cent of veterinary technicians did not identify a product they used.
- 24 per cent of veterinarians reported using antimicrobials in animals undergoing elective sterilization surgery, and 60 per cent reported antimicrobial use in other clean surgical procedures.
That study is now old and its focus is broader than sterilization, but it is the closest thing to a baseline measurement of the systems that surround the autoclave in Canadian practice. The 2020 guidance document, written by the same research group, is effectively the field's response: it supplies the programme the survey found missing.
The wider laboratory and diagnostic literature is more quantitative, and it matters to veterinary clinics because veterinary diagnostic laboratories share the pathogen families. A 2024 scoping review in The Lancet Microbe identified laboratory-acquired infections in 309 individuals across 94 reports covering 51 pathogens between 2000 and 2021, with Brucella species among the five most frequently implicated organisms and eight fatalities across the whole set. Brucellosis is a zoonosis, and the review's companion finding is that Brucella is one of the pathogens that recurs in laboratory escape events. A practice that runs Brucella-adjacent diagnostics, or that handles tissue from livestock abortions, is operating in the same risk family as the laboratories in that dataset.
The practical reading of the literature is not that veterinary clinics need reference-laboratory containment. It is that the routine steps which fail — cleaning before sterilization, load configuration, indicator handling, record keeping — are the same steps that appear in every published root-cause analysis, in human healthcare and in veterinary practice alike.
How does the arithmetic of daily monitoring change for a veterinary clinic?
A practice that decides to monitor at human-healthcare intensity should price the decision before committing to it, because the indicator is the recurring cost and the incubator is the one-time cost.
| Cadence | Indicators used per sterilizer per year | Consumable arithmetic at published Canadian catalogue prices | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weekly, no control | About 52 | About 2 packs of 25 indicators at $59.99 each, or 1 pack of 100 at $189.00 | The United States baseline cadence. Covers roughly one load in seven on a sterilizer running five loads a day. |
| Weekly plus control | About 104 | About 4 packs of 25 at $59.99 each | A control on each incubation day doubles consumption and makes the failure path interpretable. |
| Daily, each use-day, plus control | About 500 | About 20 packs of 25 at $59.99 each, or 5 packs of 100 at $189.00 | One indicator and one control for each of about 250 use-days. This is the Ontario human-healthcare cadence. |
| Daily, each use-day, two cycle types | About 1,000 | About 40 packs of 25, or 10 packs of 100 | Applies where a practice runs both wrapped and unwrapped cycles and follows the per-cycle-type rule. |
The numbers above are arithmetic from listed prices, not a quotation, and they assume one sterilizer. A practice with two sterilizers doubles the consumable line. At the daily cadence the consumable cost per use-day sits between about three and five dollars for the indicators alone, which is the figure to compare against the cost of a recalled implant or an explained-away positive.
The related decision is the incubator. A dry-block incubator with a well count that covers the daily indicator plus its control is the difference between a cadence the team can sustain and a cadence that quietly slips to whenever someone remembers.
How should a veterinary clinic document monitoring so an inspector can follow it?
The College of Veterinarians of Ontario standard already requires two things many practices under-document: the date of sterilization and the initials of the person who sterilized, on the item itself, and internal and external indicators in every surgical pack. A monitoring log built to support those two entries should carry, for each sterilizer and each day of use, the sterilizer identifier, the date, the cycle type, the load contents or load number, the chemical indicator result, the physical parameters recorded by the sterilizer, the biological indicator lot and result, the control result that day, and the name of the person who read the result.
Three habits make the difference between a log that satisfies an inspector and a log that answers a look-back question:
- Write the result, not the intention. An entry that says a biological indicator was run is weaker than an entry that names the lot and states negative or positive.
- Record the control result on the same line as the test. When a test is positive and no control was incubated, the practice cannot tell an incubation fault from a sterilization failure, and it has to treat it as a failure.
- Keep the log where the next shift will write in it. The veterinary guidance directs practices to record biological indicator results in an autoclave log to allow tracking of autoclave function; a log kept in an office is a log that stops on the day the office is closed.
If you are specifying monitoring consumables for a mixed practice, the same consumable line serves dogs, cats, horses and the dental suite. The 24-hour self-contained indicator 25-pack and the five-pack trial for a first evaluation let a practice price the cadence before committing to a year of it, and the 24-well dry-block incubator and sterilization indicator tape cover the other two lines on the same shelf. The sterilization compliance hub indexes the requirements these articles quote, and practices buying for several locations can open a wholesale account.
Related reading
For the frequency rules province by province, including the RCDSO daily requirement and the repair-triggered testing rules, see spore test frequency after a major sterilizer repair and in daily practice; for the consumable side of animal practice, see veterinary clinic waste disposal and sharps requirements and the veterinary clinic supply chain; and for the reprocessing bench itself, see laboratory and reprocessing supplies.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association publish its own sterilization standard?
No single national veterinary sterilization standard is published for clinics. The document veterinary teams use, the national small animal veterinary clinic infection prevention and control guidance, was reviewed by the CVMA National Issues Committee for endorsement and distribution through its website, and it says plainly that veterinary infection control is underdeveloped relative to human healthcare. The binding requirements sit with the provincial college that accredits the facility.
Does a veterinary clinic in Canada have to run biological indicators daily?
No Canadian veterinary document reviewed for this article sets a daily biological indicator requirement. Ontario's veterinary accreditation standard requires a recognized sterilization method, indicator use in surgical packs, and date and initials on sterilized items, without stating a monitoring frequency. The national veterinary guidance recommends periodic use and describes weekly or bi-weekly as likely adequate in most clinics. Daily monitoring is the human-healthcare expectation in Ontario, for sterilizers used in dentistry and hospitals.
Is weekly spore testing enough for a veterinary practice?
Weekly is the CDC and AAMI ST79 baseline in United States facilities, and it is close to what the Canadian veterinary guidance calls likely adequate when it recommends weekly or bi-weekly use in most clinics. Weekly is not the Ontario requirement for human healthcare, which is one biological indicator for each sterilizer on each day it is used and for each cycle type used that day. The choice belongs to the practice and to the procedures it performs; implant surgery is the usual reason a practice tightens the cadence.
What is a process challenge device, and why does it appear in human-healthcare rules but not veterinary ones?
A process challenge device holds the biological indicator behind a defined barrier so that the test challenges the penetration and air removal a real pack faces, rather than an open chamber. Ontario's human-healthcare standard requires the indicator to be placed in a device of this kind. The veterinary guidance reviewed here describes incubating the indicator after the cycle without requiring the device, which means a veterinary test is closer to a chamber test than a pack test.
How long should a veterinary clinic keep sterilization records?
Ontario's veterinary accreditation standards set medical record retention at five years after the last entry and do not state a retention period for autoclave or monitoring records. Human-healthcare practice in the province is more specific: the record for sterilization monitoring is a log book maintained for at least ten years from the date of the last entry. A practice deciding on its own retention period should size it to the look-back question it may have to answer, not to the shortest period any document allows.
Can a veterinary clinic use cold sterile instead of an autoclave?
For major surgery, no. The Ontario veterinary accreditation standard states that cold sterile is not an acceptable sterilization method for surgical instruments used in major surgery, and the national guidance warns that the term is often misused for instruments merely stored in a disinfectant solution, which are not sterile. Cold chemical sterilization, where it is used at all, requires a chemical sterilant, meticulous cleaning first, and disciplined management of concentration and contact time.
What happens after a positive biological indicator in a veterinary clinic?
The national veterinary guidance follows the human-healthcare logic: treat the sterilizer as suspect, do not use the load, investigate immediately, and recall implantable items sterilized since the last passing biological indicator. It then requires three more consecutive runs with biological indicators, and if any is positive, everything processed since the last successful run is recalled and reprocessed. The veterinary documents stop short of the human-healthcare log retention rules, so the recall decision rests on whatever the practice wrote down.
CliniEco Medical holds MDEL #35334.
Sources
- College of Veterinarians of Ontario — Accreditation Standards for Veterinary Facilities in Ontario (PDF)
- College of Veterinarians of Ontario — facility accreditation program
- Anderson, Wimmers, Weese — national infection prevention and control guidance for small animal veterinary clinics, 2nd edition, January 2020 (PDF)
- Canadian Veterinary Medical Association — veterinary guidance and resources
- University of Guelph, Ontario Veterinary College
- Murphy, Reid-Smith, Weese, McEwen — Evaluation of specific infection control practices used by companion animal veterinarians in community veterinary practices in southern Ontario, Zoonoses and Public Health 2010;57(6):429-38
- RCDSO — Standard of Practice: Infection Prevention and Control, v3 (PDF)
- Public Health Ontario / PIDAC — provincial guidance for cleaning, disinfection and sterilization in all health care settings, 3rd edition (PDF)
- CDC — Guideline for Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare Facilities, 2008
- ANSI/AAMI — ST79, comprehensive guide to steam sterilization and sterility assurance
- CSA Group — CAN/CSA-Z314 medical device reprocessing standards
- AAHA — 2018 Infection Control, Prevention, and Biosecurity Guidelines
- Alberta Veterinary Medical Association — Practice Inspection and Practice Standards
- Blacksell et al. — Laboratory-acquired infections and pathogen escapes worldwide between 2000 and 2021: a scoping review, The Lancet Microbe 2024;5(2):e194-e202
- CliniEco Medical — sterilization compliance hub
- CliniEco Medical — 24-hour self-contained biological indicator, 25-pack
- CliniEco Medical — five-pack biological indicator trial
0 commentaire